To assist educators in selecting material to incorporate into their curriculum, a partial listing of awards recognizing outstanding fiction and nonfiction writing for children and young adults is provided below.  The awards are bestowed by the American Library Association (ALA), National Science Teachers Association,  the National Council for the Social Studies, the Children’s Book Council and others.

Alex Award (Adult fiction and non-fiction that appeals to ages 12 and up)

Batchelder Award (Non-English language children’s books translated into English)

Best Books for Young Adults

Boston Globe – Horn Book Award (three categories, fiction & poetry, picture, non-fiction)

Caldecott Award (Children’s books, illustrations)

Children’s Notable Lists
(Companion to Best Books for Young Adults)

Coretta Scott King Award (for African-American authors and illustrators)

Delaware Diamonds (DSRA award, selected by Delaware children)

Edgar Allan Poe Awards (Mystery Writers of America)

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award (For distinguished beginning readers)

Golden Kite Award (For children’s books authors, awarded by peers)

Hans Christian Andersen Award (IBBY, life-time achievement of author or illustrator)

National Book Award (All literature)

Newbery Award (Children’s literature)

Orbis Pictus Award (Nonfiction for children)

Phoenix Award   (Children’s Literature Association)

Printz Award (Young adult literature)

Pura Belpre Award (Latino authors and illustrators)

Schneider Family Book Award (books about children with disabilities)

Sibert Award (Informational books for children)